The Journey Into Real Estate

How many times does one bounce back? The answer…you keep bouncing until it’s a good fit!  For those that follow my blogs you know I’ve tried a few careers in my days and once I find the “right” fit I tend to stick around a good ten years or more. My latest career is the one I believe to be my new 10 year plan. You’re going to think “Is she nuts? She’s doing THAT in THIS economy!”

A year ago I knew I needed to find a long term career path – one that would allow me to earn a good living, recoup the money I lost in the stock market, help my kids, and bounce back. I chose Real Estate. I know what you are thinking…sure the market is down but there are so many great deals out there for  the investor, those looking to make a move, and for people that have lost a home due to these economic times and are now looking to rent a house.

I started off studying for my CAM License. I began managing a portfolio of home owner associations. Being an Association Manager reminded me of my old days in the family wholesale food business….putting out fires/solving problems.  A CAM handles all those neighbor complaints.  I waited for new opportunities to come knocking. My sister suggested I take this new career a step further and get a Real Estate License. I studied hard to get my Real Estate License. I had not studied that hard since college.My thought process was, if my kids can study hard to get good grades in college then their mom could certainly do the same. My children were my inspiration to get me through this testing phase.  I studied night and day to be sure I would pass the exam on my first attempt…and I did.

Things just started snowballing. I started showing a few rental properties to those that had lost a home in foreclosure or families moving into the area. Then one day I showed a home to a couple moving to Florida in a month – they loved the home I showed them and were going to rent it for a year. Two weeks later they called with “good news and bad news”. First, the wife explained to me they were no longer going to rent the house. Okay, so what’s the good news? Instead, they had qualified to purchase a home and liked me so much that they wanted me to be their Realtor. How cool was that! Thus I started selling homes. And the referrals started coming.

Keep building that foundation as you follow your journeys path.

Zelda Greenberg

www.JacksonvilleHouseRentals.com

Leave a comment